Forever #ShaniceInspired

Four years ago tomorrow. Four years. Four years ago so many people lost such a special person.

Four years ago I lost my teammate, my friend in a tragic car accident. Shanice was a special soul, and I don’t think there is one person that would disagree with me. She was everyone’s friend. She was the kind of person that if you were upset about something, she just knew, and she would do absolutely anything to cheer you up.

Still, after four years I still don’t quite know how to put into words how blessed I am that I got to know Shanice. So this blog is me just trying to even slightly express my emotions.

Shanice was definitely a “mom” friend to me, she would always stand up for me, and help me in any way. She and I had cooking class together, and every day that we were cooking she put my hairnet on for me and tied my apron for me. That first day back without her there to do something so simple for me… man that hurt.

Shanice and I cheered together, and I am so thankful for the memories I have from that. She was one of the few people I trusted to spot my back handspring, she was always there to be positive and say, “you got this.”

She was everyone’s biggest hype man- she would genuinely be so excited when someone accomplished something new. She put her whole heart into cheering… whether it be at a football game, basketball game, competition, or even practice. You knew when Shanice was there.

January 15, 2015 is a day that is forever etched in my brain. I can remember every. single. detail. From that day and the days following. My stomach drops every time I think about it. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever gone through, and I can’t believe it’s been four years here without her.

So, as I’m sitting here writing this through my tears… I’m so thankful for the memories I have with Shanice, and to be able to see the mark she left on so many people. It sure is hard to say goodbye.

I hope you’re having the best time up in heaven, Shanice. We sure do miss you a whole lot down here.

-Abz

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑